Universities of Mainz and Darmstadt establish Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence focusing on international relations of the European Union

Interdisciplinary cooperation to examine the global interactions of the EU / EU Commission will provide financing for the three-year project

01/27/2016

The newly established Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "EU in Global Dialogue" (CEDI) is a joint project of Technische Universität Darmstadt and Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) and will focus on research and teaching as well as knowledge transfer and networking relating to the international relations of the EU.

The European Commission is to provide the financing for the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence (JMCE), which will bring together the expertise of the two Rhine-Main Universities in Mainz and Darmstadt on EU-related topics in order to generate and promote synergies between the various specialist disciplines and resources in the field of European Studies. In addition, the JMCE is designed to make an important contribution to informing the public on aspects concerning the EU and to provide a forum through which the related subjects can be critically examined.

The emphasis of the three-year JMCE program at the universities of Mainz and Darmstadt will be on research and teaching relating to the "EU in Global Dialogue". Among the subjects to be scrutinized are the foreign policy implications of EU immigration policy and regional integration from a comparative perspective. With regard to teaching, the new center will make possible the continuation and development of the innovative teaching methods employed at Mainz University in terms of EU-related simulations such as the Model European Union Mainz (MEUM) and the role-playing game EU+, which is designed for high school pupils.

The Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "EU in Global Dialogue", which bears the name of the pioneer of European unification, is part of the newly founded strategic alliance of the Rhine-Main Universities in Frankfurt, Mainz, and Darmstadt.

Universitäten Mainz und Darmstadt richten Jean-Monnet-Spitzenforschungszentrum zu Außenbeziehungen der Europäischen Union ein

Interdisziplinäre Kooperation betrachtet EU im globalen Dialog / Finanzierung des auf drei Jahre angelegten Projekts durch die Europäische Kommission

22.01.2016

Die Europäische Union im globalen Dialog steht im Mittelpunkt von Forschung und Lehre, Wissenstransfer und Vernetzung am neu eingerichteten Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "EU in Global Dialogue" (CEDI), einer Kooperation der Technischen Universität (TU) Darmstadt und der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU).

Finanziert von der Europäischen Kommission, bündelt das Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence (JMCE) der beiden Rhein-Main-Universitäten Mainz und Darmstadt insbesondere Kompetenzen und Wissen zu EU-bezogenen Themen, um so Synergien zwischen verschiedenen Fachdisziplinen und Ressourcen in den Europa-Studien zu generieren und weiterzuentwickeln. Darüber hinaus soll ein wichtiger Beitrag zur besseren Informationsvermittlung von und kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit EU-Themen in der Öffentlichkeit geleistet werden.

Der Fokus des dreijährigen JMCE-Programms der Universitäten Mainz und Darmstadt wird auf Forschung und Lehre zum Thema "Die EU im globalen Dialog" liegen und unter anderem die außenpolitische Dimension der EU-Migrationspolitik sowie die regionale Integration aus vergleichender Perspektive umfassen. Mit Blick auf die Lehre ermöglicht das JCME die Fortführung und den weiteren Ausbau der innovativen Lehrmethoden an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz im Bereich der EU-Simulationen wie die Model European Union Mainz (MEUM) oder das Planspiel "EU+" für Schülerinnen und Schüler.

Das Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "EU in Global Dialogue" (CEDI), benannt nach dem Wegbereiter der europäischen Einigung, ist Teil der neu begründeten strategischen Allianz der Rhein-Main-Universitäten Frankfurt, Mainz und Darmstadt.