As outstanding research universities in the Rhine-Main area, Goethe University Frankfurt, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, and Technische Universität Darmstadt have come together to form the strategic RHINE-MAIN UNIVERSITIES alliance. In December 2015, they signed a framework agreement to provide for even closer cooperation. The alliance partners with their about 107,400 students and 1,440 professors aim at extending and permanently securing their existing collaborations in the fields of research, teaching, continuing academic education, and the promotion and mentoring of young researchers.
The trilateral agreement of December 2015 merges the particular strengths of the three universities, consolidates and enhances their complementary profiles, and expands the course offerings for their students. Already interlinked by more than 70 joint projects and discipline-specific networks, the Rhine-Main Universities represent and support the continuous development of the whole Rhine-Main research hub and improve its international visibility and attractiveness across a broad spectrum of disciplines – from Medicine and the Natural Sciences to the Humanities and the Social Sciences to Engineering.


Cooperation projects